Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award

Eli PickThe Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award (EPFLA) was introduced in 2008 by one of ACHCA’s most revered leaders, the late Eli Pick. A former executive director of the Ballard Rehabilitation Center, DesPlaines, IL for over 30 years, Eli embodied excellence as an Administrator that cared for his residents, their families, and his community.  

Eli worked with his colleague, John Sheridan of eHealth Data Solutions, to develop an awards program that uses data-driven criteria to objectively identify high-performing Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNF) and the leaders who make them excel.

EPFLA recipients are identified using publicly collected data from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) QM and Survey Data, which is pulled and evaluated by an independent third party.  Administrators of those high-performing SNF's are celebrated and honored during ACHCA’s awards ceremony held at the Annual Convocation and Exposition.

Preselected, Administrators nominated to receive the EPFLA, will receive a notification letter from the ACHCA Awards Subcommittee as notification of their eligibility for the prestigious recognition.  Nomination letters are sent to identified facilities by U.S. Postal Mail; arriving in early/mid-January of the current award year.  Nominated Administrators must attest to their eligibility before receiving the EPFLA; online attestation form.  

Eligibility Requirements:

  • The current administrator has been the administrator of record for the full 2019 calendar year.
  • No survey (Health, Fire Safety and Complaint) in the past three years with a citation above “E” in Scope and Severity 
  • Occupancy of at least 80% as defined by CMS Survey report
  • At least two CMS 4-quarter average QM score equal or better than the top 25% for the USA for the Quality Measures listed below:
      1. Short Stay Pain – Less than 5.6497%
      2. Long Stay Pain – Less than or equal to 2.0745%
      3. Short Stay Pressure Ulcers – Less than or equal to 0.4140%
      4. Long Stay Pressure Ulcers – Less than or equal to 3.1621%
      5. Long Stay UTI – Less than or equal to 1.3216%
      6. Short Stay Psychotropic Meds – Less than or equal to 0.9852%
      7. Long Stay Psychotropic Meds – Less than or equal to 8.9337%
      8. Short Stay % Improvement in Function – Greater than or equal to 0.7681%
  • Avoidance of Special Focus Facility status
  • Current member of the American College of Health Care Administrators (ACHCA)
  • To receive the Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award, all of the above conditions must be met

*Nominated Administrators for the EPFLA that are non-members can join the ACHCA Community to receive the award if all other eligibility requirements are met.

Exclusivity:  The Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award is a recognition of distinction. Only 7% of high performing skilled nursing facilities qualify nationwide. This year, 1,111 facilities met the selection criteria based on the collected data; 72% of those nominated in 2019 are repeat qualifiers. 

To view Administrators identified to receive the 2020 Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award, click here.  The EPFLA list includes facility names, sorted by state, with CCN numbers, and a summary by state.

IMPORTANT:  It's important to note that receipt of the notification letter is the first step towards confirming eligibility for the Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award.  Administrators must attest to their eligibility including verification of their ACHCA member status.  

Questions can be sent via e-mail to [email protected].

EPFLA ATTESTATION - the online attestation must be completed by February 21, 2020, to receive recognition for the EPFLA.