Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award

Eli PickThe Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award (EPFLA) was introduced in 2008 by one of ACHCA’s most revered leaders, the late Eli Pick. A former executive director of the Ballard Rehabilitation Center, DesPlaines, IL for over 30 years, Eli embodied excellence as an Administrator that cared for his residents, their families, and his community.  

Eli worked with his colleague, John Sheridan of eHealth Data Solutions (now part of the Inovalon family), to develop an awards program that uses data-driven criteria to objectively identify high-performing Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNF) and the leaders who make them excel.

EPFLA recipients are identified using publicly collected data from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) QM and Survey Data, which is pulled and evaluated by an independent third party.  Administrators of those high-performing SNF's will be celebrated and honored during the EPLFA Luncheon on Tuesday, March 22, 2022 (Annual Convocation, New Orleans, Louisiana).

Click here to view the 2022 Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award recipients.  These Administrators have met all of the below-listed eligibility requirements. 

Eligibility Requirements:

  • The current administrator has been the administrator of record for the full 2021 calendar year.
  • No survey (Health, Fire Safety and Complaint) in the past three years with a citation above “E” in Scope and Severity
  • Occupancy of at least 70% as defined by CMS Survey report
  • CMS Overall Star Rating of 3 or higher
  • At least two CMS 4-quarter average QM score equal or better than the top 25% for the USA for the Quality Measures listed below:
      1. Long Stay Falls with Major Injury – Less than 1.9084%
      2. Long Stay Decrease in Independent Movement – Less than or equal to 15.9841%
      3. Long Stay Pressure Ulcers – Less than or equal to 5.0360%
      4. Long Stay UTI – Less than or equal to 1.0676%
      5. Short Stay Antipsychotic Meds – Less than or equal to 1.0817%
      6. Long Stay Antipsychotic Meds – Less than or equal to 8.4211%
      7. Short Stay % Improvement in Function – Greater than or equal to 81.3875%
  • Avoidance of Special Focus Facility status
  • A current voting member of the American College of Health Care Administrators (ACHCA)
  • To receive the Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award, all of the above conditions must be met.

Exclusivity: The Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award is a recognition of distinction. Only 3% of facilities nationwide qualify. This year, 789 facilities met the selection criteria.

Click here to view the 2022 Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award recipients.  These Administrators have met all of the eligibility requirements.  Click here to view the nominated Administrators for the 2022 EPFLA. The EPFLA list includes facility names, sorted by state, with CCN numbers, and a summary by state.  These qualifiers were pre-selected to receive the award and sent a notification letter of their eligibility for the prestigious recognition

The ACHCA Awards Committee approves the delivery of nomination letters to identified facilities by U.S. postal mail in January of the current award year. Nominated Administrators must attest to their eligibility before receiving the EPFLA.  The timeframe to attest for eligibility has closed.

Questions can be sent via e-mail to [email protected].