Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award

Eli PickThe Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award (EPFLA) was introduced in 2008 by one of ACHCA’s most revered leaders, the late Eli Pick. A former executive director of the Ballard Rehabilitation Center, DesPlaines, IL for over 30 years, Eli embodied excellence as an Administrator that cared for his residents, their families, and his community.  

Eli worked with his colleague, John Sheridan of eHealth Data Solutions (now part of the Inovalon family), to develop an awards program that uses data-driven criteria to objectively identify high-performing Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNF) and the leaders who make them excel.

EPFLA recipients are identified using publicly collected data by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), which was pulled (Most of the quality measures are taken from the 12 months ending 6/30/22 and reported in October) and evaluated by Ruby Partner, Broad River Rehab.   

*Administrators of those high-performing SNF's were celebrated and honored during the EPLFA Luncheon on Tuesday, April 25, 2023 (Annual Convocation, Baltimore, Maryland).

Eligibility Requirements:

  • The current administrator has been the administrator of record for the full 2022 calendar year.
  • No survey (Health, Fire Safety and Complaint) in the past three years with a citation above “E” in Scope and Severity
  • Occupancy of at least 70% as defined by CMS Survey report
  • CMS Overall Star Rating of 3 or higher
  • At least two CMS 4-quarter average QM score equal or better than the top 25% for the USA for the Quality Measures listed below:
      1. Long Stay Falls with Major Injury – Less than 1.5385%
      2. Long Stay Decrease in Independent Movement – Less than or equal to 10.7474%
      3. Long Stay Pressure Ulcers – Less than or equal to 4.7170%
      4. Long Stay UTI – Less than or equal to 0.5362%
      5. Short Stay Antipsychotic Meds – Less than or equal to 0.0000%
      6. Long Stay Antipsychotic Meds – Less than or equal to 7.8740%
      7. Short Stay % Improvement in Function – Greater than or equal to 83.2444%
  • Avoidance of Special Focus Facility status
  • A current voting member of the American College of Health Care Administrators (ACHCA)
  • All of the above conditions must be met to receive the leadership award.

Exclusivity: The Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award is a recognition of distinction. Only 2% of facilities nationwide qualify. This year, 281 facilities met the selection criteria.

To view the nominated Administrators for the 2023 EPFLA, click here. The qualifier list includes facility names, sorted by state, with CCN numbers, and a summary by state.  These qualifiers were pre-selected to receive the award and sent a notification letter of their eligibility for the prestigious recognition

Questions can be sent via e-mail to [email protected].

*The 2022 Eli Pick Facility Leadership Award recipients.